Titling a motorcycle began a few decades ago in some states.Here’s how to get a title for a scooter:

  • Visit your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles website or physical office
  • Print out and fill the form DMV provides
  • Carry a government issued identification like ID card or driver’s license for the registration process.

The affidavit combined with the necessary documents allows the creation of a title without showing the DMV proof of purchase.

Interesting titling fact: Barn find bike: Barn find means that motorcycles without a title are still around. There’s no idea about their owners since there are no records.

Do scooters need titles

In most states, scooters are categorized under the motor-driven cycles and therefore require titling.

In states like California you don’t require a title while in others like Florida you require a title.

A title is a requirement dependent on the state you reside in.

Scooter title in Illinois

Illinois scooter laws in the Illinois Rules of the Road as issued by the Illinois Secretary of State are:

  • You need a VIN and a safety certification label to title and register a scooter that’s motor-operated.
  • You must have a title and registration for your scooter to operate on public roads in Illinois.
  • Scooter drivers must obey all traffic laws. They must comply with the rules that often apply to bicyclists only.
  • If your scooter carries more than one person, it must have a footrest and a seat for the passenger
  • For use at night,a scooter should have a headlight visible at least 500 feet away, and a tail light that’s visible from at least 100-600 feet  away.
  • Before using the scooter on a public road,the operator must have a driver’s license(class L or M license).
  • Wear eye protection when operating a scooter.
  • As all other vehicles,a scooter is required to maintain liability insurance to cover damage to people and their property in an accident.

Title for a motorcycle in NY

You need the following to title and register your motorcycle in NY:

  • The original title that has been signed by the buyer and the seller for motorcycles from 1973 and newer
  • Old registration and bill of sale if the motorcycle was bought in a state that does not issue titles
  • Transferable registration for motorcycles from 1972 and older from the NYS
  • Sales Tax form or a bill of sale
  • Insurance proof
  • Registration and title fees and sales tax
  • Registration application for the vehicle

If you purchased a used motorcycle without a title in NY,try these ways to register it:

  • For bikes bought in NY,ask to get a duplicate title from the owner before completion of  sale.
  • For those purchased in a state that requires titles, ask the previous owner to request a duplicate title from his state.
  • You can also register the motorcycle in a state that doesn’t require a title

NY motorcycles are required to have the following equipment:

  • Rearview mirrors
  • Handlebar grips that are not above shoulder height
  • Turn signals for all motorcycles manufactured after 1984
  • Daytime headlights
  • Horn
  • Speedometer for all motorcycles manufactured after 1979

How to register a scooter without a title in Florida

You need to apply for a title before you register a scooter. Visit your local tax collector office, and fill the form they provide.

Verify the vehicle identification number (VIN) by bringing the vehicle to the office or by having a police officer do it, then take the completed form to the tax office.

Pay the required fees and get the title.

Do 49cc mopeds have title

A moped of 50cc and above is treated like a motorcycle and it’s driver is required to register and title it. If the moped is below 50cc, it doesn’t have to be titled or registered.

Should I buy a moped without a title

It is not ideal to buy a moped without a title. If you do, here are your options:

  • Buy a dead moped’s title to enable registration and insure your moped. Since  VINs do not match, reselling your moped would become difficult.
  • Buy a frame with title from a scrap store and transfer the parts of your moped to the new frame. Although you will have a moped with a title, this is a lot of work and is time consuming.
  • You could also buy a frame with title from the scrap store, remove it’s VIN plate and replace the one on your moped. With this option you do not have to move the parts, and you end up with a moped with a title.
  • Or you could just buy the moped and ride dirty without insuring or registering it.

Title for a motorcycle frame

Most states have not laid down laws concerning the titling of the frame only. Titling the frame means titling the entire motorcycle.

New frames come with a manufacturer’s statement of origin instead of a title.

Here are the titling steps to follow:

Step 1: Prepare the frame construction document

  • If your frame is homemade you need to create a document with the details of the entire frame construction. A notarized document is required in some states.
  • If it is a replacement frame you need to prepare the bill of sale and the new frame’s title. You must get a VIN if the frame doesn’t have one.

Step 2: Contact your local motor vehicle department

  • Visit their website to check the requirements for eligibility, and the forms to submit.
  • Or visit their office for the same. You’ll find the updated requirements there.

Step 3: Proof of payment preparation

  • If the frame is home-built, the registration agency expects you to have the necessary receipts. Receipts are required to prove that the motorcycle is not stolen because thieves can swap the frame to make a stolen motorcycle legit.
  • You are required to prepare every receipt as well as the bill of sale for every part you used even if you obtained it from a repair shop or from a friend.
  • For a new frame, you will need its receipt and bill of sale.

Step 4: Ownership of engine and transmission proof

  • You will need this for custom made motorcycles
  • You need the manufacturer’s certificate of origin for a new engine and transmission at the purchase time.
  • If you received it as a gift or from an old motorcycle, get the proof of payment. The engine has its number so you may not need a title for it.

Step 5: Provide the odometer disclosure statement

  • The registration agency requires the statement if a motorcycle is bought in running order.
  • A  newly purchased frame is covered by the manufacturer’s certificate of origin.
  • You need to prove ownership for a used or salvage engine.

Step 6: Apply for a VIN

  • A new frame must have a VIN to make it legal.
  • For a home built motorcycle, apply for a VIN. You’ll receive a form that proves ownership of the motor, transmission and frame.

Step 7: Theft inspection

  • For a new frame with no VIN,a theft inspection is conducted to ensure the bike is not stolen.
  • For a custom built motorcycle you may not go through theft inspection.

Step 8: Go for safety inspection

For homemade motorcycles, you need a Safety Inspection Certificate that’s filled out by a law enforcement officer from your state. It confirms that your bike is roadworthy.

A safety inspection checks the brakes, tires,horns, lights,mirrors, exhaust, directional signage,etc. At this point the frame VIN may be installed.

Step 9: Emission certification

This is required for your custom built motorcycle depending on your state to ensure your bike is safe for the atmosphere according to the standards set.

If the test is successful, you will be certified to get a VIN and title the motorcycle frame.

Step 10: Get an insurance

  • Insurance companies do not risk insuring a custom built motorcycle.
  • They have no problem insuring those that are not custom built.

Understand the demands of your state before you start building a motorcycle.

How old  does a motorcycle have to be to not have a title

Motorcycles older than 15 years cannot be issued titles in most states. They can only receive registration.

How to get rid of a motorcycle without a title

In most states it is illegal to sell a motorcycle that has no title. You are required to provide the title upfront in some states, and give it to the buyer eventually.

Ways to get rid of a motorcycle without a title:

Junk the motorcycle

Junkyards accept it as scrap metal  but will require your driver’s license and previous registration to verify ownership.

Junkyards pay less than the market value of the motorcycle because of the additional cost of it’s legalization.

Turn it to art

Turn your motorcycle into art. Seek out the help of a local artist.

Sell to track riders

If you have track riders in your neighborhood, sell the motorcycle to them. They need the components.

Sell to a vintage club

Do a Google search for either Vintage Motorcycle Club or Antique Motorcycle Club. You may find someone that needs the bike.

Consider Antique if your bike is older.

Register the motorcycle in  your name

In states like Vermont and Georgia you can register a motorcycle with no title though your bike must be as old as specified by that state.

The motorcycle should be at least 15 years older for registration and transference of ownership to your name. However, it exceeds the legal age for a title in the state and so you will not receive a title.

Get a bonded title

Request a bonded title for your motorcycle without a title if you reside in or outside Texas. You must first pass the theft inspection by the local sheriff or police.

For the bonded title procedure to start you need to take the theft inspection certificate to the Department of Motor Vehicles.

Dump the motorcycle

Get rid of parts that contain VIN and dump the motorcycle.

Trade out of state

You can sell it out of state. Check out a state with titling laws that are less stringent.

Check this too: How to Make a 50CC Scooter Faster for Free

Sell it on Craigslist

Sell it as a parts bike locally on Craigslist. Selling as a part bike means it has no title. In many states, dirt bikes,Motocross bikes and drag racing bikes don’t require a title.

Conclusion

Titling and registration of scooters,mopeds and motorcycles varies from state to state.

Make sure you check with your state’s DMV to understand the motor driven cycles laws.